<<writings of Moses>>

The first five books of the OT: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy.  Known to the Jews as the Torah, they are also called the ‘Books of the Law’ and were written by Moses. The accounts recorded cover the period from the creation of the world, through the flood of Noah’s time to Abraham, the beginning of the Israelite nation and their wilderness wanderings, until just prior to the conquest of the Promised Land. This part of the Bible includes much history; however, more importantly it contains the laws and principles which God wanted His people to live by and thus forms the theological foundation of Christianity.

See also: Bible, Torah.